OK! Nigeria review: Nigerian Kings Of Comedy

On August 12 Cokobar.com hosted the Nigerian Kings of Comedy for the first time at London HMV Apollo. The atmosphere was great, Cokobar.com put together the most exciting line-up with talented comedians such as Basketmouth (host), Bovi, I Go Dye, and Okey Bakassi etc. Unfortunately, I Go Dye and Bovi couldn’t make it, which came as a terrible disappointment to most of the audience.

Image

Basketmouth

Image

Okey Bakassi

However, we received a great surprise when non household names such as Akpororo and Dalisa Chaponda took to the stage. Dalisa Chaponda is from Malawi who lived in Canada for seven years; he shared with us some of his experiences in England. One of my favorite jokes from him was; “My first job in England was terrible it was a cleaning houses in rich areas, and I was tempted to steal. But I did not steal because the Bible says thou shall not steal, butnowhere does it say thou shall not swap” as soon as he said ‘swap’ the audience burst out with laughter. Anyone doubting the Malawi comedian was surely proven wrong; as he left the stage, applauds were incredibly loud.

Image

Dalisa Chaponda

Nevertheless, Akpororo was the ultimate surprise as immediately he walked on stage, he said “this is my first time for London here, and una no want to clap for me abi, me I always say if I tell a joke and you don’t laugh he not be say I’m not funny oo, it be say na your wahala you carry come pass my own. So I go walk off stage and return, una better clap oo”. The spectators were laughing uncontrollable as he literally walked off stage and upon his return everyone was screaming and clapping. I must admit Akpororo was amazing, he sang a gospel song in which he had the audience singing along, he danced while the audience cheered him on, in addition he had the audience laughing non-stop. As a result he received a standing ovation when he existed from the stage.

Image

Akpororo

To conclude the show, Brymo the Chocolate City vocalist performed his hit songs; Oleku, Good Morning and Ara.

Image

Brymo

Image

Brymo

Image

Brymo

Words by Adrienne Addai